I get a few emails each week asking me whether certain of my domain names are for sale. The answer is usually no, though sometimes, I have been tempted with a nice offer.
Yesterday I received an email that appears to make some assumptions so I thought I'd post it here. I've removed any identifying information from the email, otherwise, it's as I received it.
Dear Sirs,
You have registered the top level domain (co.uk) of our registered company name xxxxxxxx. We are incorporated in the United States as xxxxxxxx LLC and have owned the xxxxxxxx.com domain since 1997.
We would like to utilize the co.uk domain for corporate use. Would you please let me know what kind of arrangement we can make for a transfer of the domain?
Sincerely,
I might be wrong about the intention here, but the way I see it, this person is assuming because he has a company based in the USA and owns the .com of the same name, that this gives him automatic rights over a UK name that I have owned for a number of years.
The first line is particularly accusatory in my opinion. It suggests that I deliberately set out to register his company name.
Asking for a transfer of the name is a bloody cheek, but maybe I am being unfair and he's really asking whether the name is for sale.
However, I've dealt with idiots like this before and I know the form.
My reply was simply to state that the domain name in question is not for sale. It won't be the end of the matter though, since people like this really do believe that they have an entitlement to something that's not theirs.
Owning a USA company of the same name as a .co.uk name carries no weight at all in the UK.
Owning the .com version of a name does not imply rights to any other extension.
Sending emails like the one above does nothing to motivate me to even consider selling a domain name. In fact, it just motivates me to point out the error of their ways on my blog.
Kepp it up Mr P and I'll post your URL too.
Labels: domain sales, domain squatting, reverse hijack